BLOG

How to Share Access to a YouTube Brand Account With Your Agency

Published November 20, 2018

Businesses of all sizes are expanding their use of YouTube videos for marketing and customer support. But, how do you share access to your business YouTube account with other people who work with you - especially your agency?

 The key is to use a Google Brand Account to host your YouTube videos.  Brand Accounts are Google’s solution for businesses that need to share and collaborate on managing a brand across Google properties.

Google Brand Accounts can link many Google services, including YouTube, Google Photos, etc. Using a Brand Account rather than a personal account allows you to authorize access for multiple users and give them managerial permissions. If you are working with an agency, you’ll want to give them access to your Youtube account so they can manage your videos, run ad campaigns, and make use of YouTube Analytics to measure success and develop new ideas for video campaigns.


 


Giving your agency access to your YouTube Brand Account can be confusing, so here we explain how to do it, step by step:

1. Go to YouTube and log in as your Brand Account

If your Brand Account is already linked to your personal account, click on your account, find “Switch Accounts” in the dropdown menu, and select the Brand Account you wish to switch to. This will log you into your Brand Account.

Screen Shot # 1-1

2. G
o to Settings and find Managers.

This will be a section at the bottom of the Settings menu. Click the link that says Add or Remove Managers.

screen shot # 2


3. Click Add New Users.

This button is in the top right corner of the Manage Permissions window and looks like two people and a plus sign.

screen shot 3


4. Add names or email addresses you wish to associate with your Brand Account.

You can add individual email addresses or find them by name if they’re linked to the Google account you are currently using.

screenshot 4

5. Give these users Manager Access.

Owners control who else can manage the account, so it’s best to keep Owners within your business. There will always be one Primary Owner who can add other Owners to the account. Manager access allows users to post videos, read and manage comments, see channel analytics, and edit account details, but they cannot delete the account.  Manager level access is the most common to give to an agency.

screen shot 5

The users at your agency who have been given Manager access will then receive an email invitation. If they accept the invitation, they will be granted access. With access, they can switch to your business’ Brand Account in the same manner that you do and utilize Youtube to best promote your brand and company.

If you switch agencies, decide to bring YouTube management in-house, or for any other reason, you can easily remove permissions from people previously granted access, in order to do this, you will need to:

1. Find the Brand Accounts section of your Google Account and choose your account.

This section can be found by going to https://myaccount.google.com, Clicking Personal Info & Privacy, Clicking on “Go to Google Dashboard”, and scrolling down to Brand Accounts, or by clicking here: https://myaccount.google.com/brandaccounts. Find the Brand Account you wish to manage under Your Brand Accounts.

screen shot 7

2. Select Manage Permissions.

This will be a large blue button next to Users and will bring up a pop up window displaying all of the users who have been given permission to access this account.

screen shot 8

3. Select their role in order to change or remove it.

If you are the Primary Owner of the account, you must give Primary Ownership to another person before you leave the account. Only Owners can delete the account entirely.

 

ALSO IN THIS BLOG

Remember how your mom told you not to stand too close to the television because it might hurt your eyes?
The same rules can apply to data. If you’re too close, you may miss the patterns and trends that are crucial to understanding your website’s performance. You can’t judge a site’s performance looking at data in the bubble of a single day, you must consider any day’s traffic compared to the days before and after.
Google Analytics makes it fairly easy to analyze trends over long periods of time. But it also allows you to stand right in front of that TV, to look at more granular levels of time, right down to the hour.
There’s a better way to get that close to the data, without burning your retinas. We’ll cover how to analyze traffic effectively in today’s post.

 

 

When the client first came to you, you talked up the value of Google Analytics. You emphasized the importance of seeing where your traffic was coming from. You went on and on about how Google Analytics can show traffic sources to pinpoint whether people came from search, social media or a specific site referral, and how valuable this data was. You sold them on it, so much so that your client looked forward to receiving that first report, the magical day when they would finally understand where visitors were coming from.
But then the report came, and it looked like this:

 

 

It showed that 10% of your client’s traffic came from “(direct)/(none)”. What does this label mean? How do you explain Direct traffic to your client? Better yet, how do you explain “none”?
Let’s take a closer look at understanding Direct traffic in Google Analytics and how we can address it with clients.
One of the most exciting and important aspects of digital marketing is the ability to understand exactly how your customers are finding you. It informs every single part of integrated campaigns and helps determine which efforts are working and which ones need to be revisited. Google Analytics allows you to zero in on the performances of different marketing channels to evaluate everything from brand awareness to social media messaging. To get the most insight from that data, it’s crucial to understand exactly how Google sorts your traffic.
Channels in Google Analytics are high-level categories indicating how people found your site. While the Source/Medium report shows you in more detail where people came from, Channels are broader, more “user-friendly” names lumping visits together in buckets useful for high-level reporting categories.
For instance, Facebook Sessions often show up in multiple ways in the Source/Medium report. They may appear as facebook.com, m.facebook.com, and l.facebook.com, all of which are variations of the same source. The Channels report will include all of these in the Social bucket, so you can see less granular, aggregate numbers on social media performance.